Warming up Harley before starting?

CapeTeddy

40+ Posts
Oct 22, 2019
Quincy Florida
Hi, I recently moved from Southwest Florida to Northern Florida. The weather up here is much colder and I have no room in the garage for my Freewheeler. I keep it in a large tent but my concern is the battery and starting when the weather drops into the 20's overnight and mornings.. The weather warms up during the day so if I decide to ride, the trike might still be cold. I don't want to ruin the battery or starter and another Harley rider suggested I run a space heater for a couple hours before I start it? Sounds like a good idea but I have no experience with cold weather and trikes. Is it a good idea to run a space heater in the tent? Any suggestions? Thanks

Hi, I recently moved from Southwest Florida to Northern Florida. The weather up here is much colder and I have no room in the garage for my Freewheeler. I keep it in a large tent but my concern is the battery and starting when the weather drops into the 20's overnight and mornings.. The weather warms up during the day so if I decide to ride, the trike might still be cold. I don't want to ruin the battery or starter and another Harley rider suggested I run a space heater for a couple hours before I start it? Sounds like a good idea but I have no experience with cold weather and trikes. Is it a good idea to run a space heater in the tent? Any suggestions? Thanks

Just keep it on a battery maintainer not a trickle charger a battery maintainer and you’ll be all right……

We have 3 bikes in an unheated garage. We get below zero temps in the winter. I rotate a battery tender between them. No problems starting them up (if I have to).

If I'm going to ride in cold weather I'll let them idle until the RPMs drop and the fluids warm up.

A battery tender is your trikes best friend, I live in Jax Florida. My trike stays on a tender when I am not riding