New member, old rider, now on 2017 TriGlide

cawfeeguy1

5+ Posts
Nov 27, 2023
Van Nuys, Ca, USA
Hi everyone. Can someone explain to me why some Harley dealers penalize people for buying aftermarket parts and paying them a pretty penny to have them installed? I bought a new set of Legend Revo A shocks and lift brackets and wanted the sag adjusted because they never adjusted them when I originally had them installed by them. My dealer wanted 1 hr labor charge @ $189.00/hr. Had they been Harley shocks there would be no charge! Unfortunately I’m not a mechanic or have a lift and tools like a lot of you. Thanks.

Hi everyone. Can someone explain to me why some Harley dealers penalize people for buying aftermarket parts and paying them a pretty penny to have them installed? I bought a new set of Legend Revo A shocks and lift brackets and wanted the sag adjusted because they never adjusted them when I originally had them installed by them. My dealer wanted 1 hr labor charge @ $189.00/hr. Had they been Harley shocks there would be no charge! Unfortunately I’m not a mechanic or have a lift and tools like a lot of you. Thanks.

Welcome to TrikeTalk.

It is a little difficult to answer your question without a bit more details.

So, you purchased aftermarket shocks - curious, did you purchase them through the dealership or simply buy them and have the dealer install them?

Also, how long ago was this done - if recently, I find it hard to believe that the dealer would try to charge you if they were not properly adjusted.

So, let me add a bit about my dealership. I try to purchase my items through them, they can also secure some aftermarket items. On my 2014, I got aftermarket (Progressive) shocks - the dealer got them for me and installed them. When I felt something was wrong, I took them back to the dealer, they checked them and ordered a new set - no charge for any of this.